The fee for a marriage license in Kansas is $85.50, payable in cash, money order or cashier's check (made out to "Clerk of the District Court") or you can pay with a Visa, Mastercard or Discover card. Credit cards are charged a $4.95 convenience fee. There is a 3 day waiting period in Kansas. This means you go the first time to obtain your application/worksheet which you will fill out at the courthouse and leave it with them (some courthouses will permit you to take these forms home, such as Johnson County). Only one of you has to do this - Kansas does not require both parties' presence to purchase the marriage license. Nobody else can do this for you - the courthouse requires you in person to get the worksheet and they will check your ID. The application is then is processed and marriage license is issued after the 3 day waiting period. This is not the FINAL marriage license - that is issued once this "temporary" marriage license is signed and filed. If you apply for the marriage license on a MONDAY you can pick it up on Thursday. On TUESDAY you can pick it up on Friday. WEDNESDAY, THURSDAY and FRIDAY marriage licenses are available for pickup on MONDAY. Please keep this in mind when planning your proxy wedding. You do NOT have to pick it up within a 3 day period. KANSAS Marriage Licenses are good for 6 months. When you are ready to get married you get your marriage license and contact us to schedule your proxy wedding. Your ceremony will be performed and your license will be filled out and signed. You can file the license yourself or we can file for you. License must be filed within 10 days. A Certified Copy of your marriage license can be obtained from the Kansas Department of Health & Environment in Topeka, Kansas. The cost is $15. You can order in person, via internet, mail or telephone. ID of the REQUESTOR is required, either by mail, fax or email. The website for this information is HERE
Below is a list of courthouses close to us:
DOUGLAS COUNTY COURTHOUSE
111 E 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Hours: Monday - Friday 8am-12pm; 1pm-4:30pm
JOHNSON COUNTY COURTHOUSE
(This is the courthouse we prefer)
100 N Kansas Avenue
Olathe, KS 66061
Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-5pm
*SHAWNEE COUNTY COURTHOUSE
200 SE 7th Street
Topeka, KS 66603
Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-4:30pm
WYANDOTTE COUNTY COURTHOUSE
Marriage License & Probate Court
710 N 7th Street
Kansas City, KS 66101
Hours: Monday-Friday 8am-5pm (closed from Noon-1pm)
**Example of Worksheet to be filled out when applying for KANSAS MARRIAGE LICENSE is HERE** (print this out so you know what information you will need to provide when the county gives you their application)
THE COURTHOUSE WILL HAVE YOU SIGN AND ATTEST TO THE FOLLOWING WHEN YOU ARE THERE:
UNIFORM APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE
IN THE ____________JUDICIAL DISTRICT DISTRICT COURT
OF ________________COUNTY, KANSAS
STATE OF KANSAS, _________________COUNTY SS:
APPLICATION MADE BY PARTY A PARTY B
Party A Name (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial) City and County of Residence Age (Please do not list date of birth.)
Party B Name (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial) City and County of Residence Age (Please do not list date of birth.)
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING: The above-named parties hereby make application to marry and further apply for a marriage license addressed to any person authorized by law to unite said parties in marriage. Affiant, being duly sworn says:
That the contracting parties are of lawful age to obtain a marriage license, or have acquired the necessary consent under law if they are not of lawful age.
That the contracting parties are not related to each other in any of the degrees prohibited by law, to-wit: Parent and child, grandparent and grandchild in any degree, brother and sister of the whole or half blood, uncle or niece, aunt or nephew, or first cousins.
That there is no legal reason preventing such marriage, to the best of the affiant’s knowledge and belief. Party A Signature Party B Signature
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS ____ DAY OF _________, 2019 .
Name and Title of Court Official
If your fiancee lives in another COUNTRY you might need to also get an Apostille Certificate, also called a DC-60 form in Kansas. It costs $7.50 and is a simple form to fill out. Don't fall for the scams that want to charge you $150 for this service - you can do it yourself easily. It comes from the Kansas Secretary of State's office, which is across the street from the Shawnee County Courthouse in Topeka. (Shawnee County is where the certified copy of the marriage license is issued). You will need to provide a copy of that certified marriage license along with your Apostille Certificate request.
KANSAS PROXY MARRIAGE
As the top rated Wedding Service in the Greater Kansas City area, we at Your Magical Daytm take our role very seriously. We are here to help couples get married who can't be together one way or another. Your beloved might be in the military, incarcerated, in another state or country, hospitalized or unable to get to you at the moment. We are here to ensure that your marriage can happen anyway. Kansas is one of only two states left where Proxy Marriages are legal and recognized in all states, in all branches of the military and also in most countries. The process is fast and easy. One of you is required to travel to the state of Kansas. You can stay for 4 days or travel twice, depending on what is most convenient for your schedule. The first day you will fill out an application to purchase the marriage license from the Kansas Courthouse. Kansas has a 3-day waiting period before you can actually pick up the Marriage License. You can stay in the area for those 3 business days or travel back at your convenience to pick it up. Once you pick up the marriage license you will meet with us so we can perform the proxy marriage and get your license filed. You can go home that same day. Our price is the lowest in the entire Kansas City metro area because we believe getting married shouldn't cost an arm and a leg - just your hearts. Don't pay the insane prices that others charge for the same service we offer - we started our entire business because it was so expensive to get married and we were very poor at the time. Look at our Google Ratings for Your Magical Day to see what others say about us.
A Special benefit we offer to our Proxy Brides is a photo session in our wedding chapel - just bring a camera or cell phone. Brides can borrow a wedding dress, veil and bouquet and we will take some special photos in our Angel and Sunflower Chapels.
We charge one flat fee of $250 and payment is not due until you are with us in person to do your proxy marriage. We accept cash, debit or credit cards (3.5% fee is charged if using credit/debit cards). Call Your Magical Daytm at (816) 673-6106 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org today to schedule your PROXY MARRIAGE.