Your Magical DayTM Marriage License Information
GET YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE FIRST AT THE RECORDER OF DEEDS!
YOU CAN'T GET MARRIED WITHOUT IT!
Information on where to obtain your marriage license in Missouri
(we check this information frequently to make sure it is up to date
- Keep in mind that most judges will NOT perform marriages anymore)
KANSAS MARRIAGE LICENSE
If you are getting married in the State of Kansas, here are the requirements, which are different than Missouri:
State of Kansas
Marriage License Requirements
Kansas marriage license fee is $85.50 and you can payin cash, money order or cashiers check (made payable to the "Clerk of the District Court") OR Visa, Mastercard & Discover. They charge a $4.95 "convenience" fee for credit card payments. NO PERSONAL CHECKS! Bring photo ID, drivers license, state ID, passport, or birth certificate and social security card. If divorced you will need to provide proof that the marriage was terminated.
To obtain a Kansas Marriage License for individuals who are 18 years of age or older, at least one party must appear in person at their local District Court Clerk’s office. Under 18 you will need parental permission to get married.
When applying for your MARRIAGE LICENSE in Kansas, you will be given an application (worksheet) which you can fill out while you are at the courthouse or you can take it home to fill out later. (obtain at the Clerk of District Court office). Example of the Application Worksheet is HERE. After 3 business days you may pick it up. You will give this to your wedding officiant to sign and file. You will also sign a sworn affidavit which looks like this:
UNIFORM APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR MARRIAGE LICENSE
IN THE ____________JUDICIAL DISTRICT DISTRICT COURT
OF ________________COUNTY, KANSAS
STATE OF KANSAS, _________________COUNTY SS:
APPLICATION MADE BY PARTY A PARTY B
Party A Name (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial) City and County of Residence Age (Please do not list date of birth.)
Party B Name (Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial) City and County of Residence Age (Please do not list date of birth.)
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING: The above-named parties hereby make application to marry and further apply for a marriage license addressed to any person authorized by law to unite said parties in marriage. Affiant, being duly sworn says:
That the contracting parties are of lawful age to obtain a marriage license, or have acquired the necessary consent under law if they are not of lawful age.
That the contracting parties are not related to each other in any of the degrees prohibited by law, to-wit: Parent and child, grandparent and grandchild in any degree, brother and sister of the whole or half blood, uncle or niece, aunt or nephew, or first cousins.
That there is no legal reason preventing such marriage, to the best of the affiant’s knowledge and belief. Party A Signature Party B Signature
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME THIS DAY OF, 20 .
Name and Title of Court Official
If you apply for your license on Monday you can pick it up on Thursday. Tuesday - Pick up on Friday. Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, you can pick it up on the following Monday.
ALL information must be completed and returned when picking up the license.
The worksheet must be signed by both parties.
Either person may pick up the license.
The license is issued and you may have your ceremony performed anywhere within the State of Kansas, for a period of six months. Two (2) WITNESS Signatures are required. There is NO AGE LIMIT for witnesses. This information comes directly from the Recorder of Deeds Office and is current as of 1-11-18.
Once ceremony is performed you must return license within 10 days back to the office where you purchased the license. It will be sent to the Kansas Department of Health & Environment in Topeka, Kansas by the Recorder of Deeds office (either electronically or mailed, depending on the office) and the Certified Copy of the Marriage License will be available for purchase ($15 fee) via internet, phone, email or mail.
The Topeka Website is HERE
If you need a PROXY WEDDING (only one of you can be present) you can get all the information you need for this on our Proxy Marriage website HERE
The following is a list of counties in the Greater KC Area where a KANSAS marriage license may be obtained:
111 E. 11th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044
Office Hours: Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Johnson County Courthouse
100 N Kansas Ave, Olathe, KS 66061
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Shawnee County Courthouse
Clerk of the District Court
200 SE 7th St., Topeka, Kansas 66603
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm
Wyandotte County Courthouse
Marriage License and Probate Court
710 N. Seventh St., First Floor, Kansas City, KS
Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Jackson County Marriage License Clay County Marriage License
MISSOURI MARRIAGE LICENSE
A MISSOURI marriage license is required for all marriages that take place at our CHAPEL. It doesn't matter what county it is from and you don't have to live in that county or even in Missouri!
A Missouri marriage license can ONLY be used for ceremonies taking place in the State of Missouri. It is required to have 2 witnesses in Missouri. Marriage Licenses in Missouri cost $50. Some offices require cash (exact amount as they do not make change - Platte County is one) while other counties may also accept credit or debit cards. (We suggest you call the county ahead of time to determine their hours and method of payment required) .
Missouri State Statutes Recorder of Deeds office issues, records and maintains MARRIAGE LICENSE records - NOT marriage CERTIFICATES. The certificate is just a souvenir for the couple and not a legal document. The courthouse does not have records or copies of the marriage certificate - only the license and the certified copy needed for name change is a certified copy of the LICENSE - not the Certificate.
Individuals must be at least 18 years old to obtain a marriage license; however, with parental consent one can be granted at age 16. No blood test is required and there is no waiting period in Missouri. When you apply for your license, you wait while the information is filled out and you leave with your license in hand.
Both parties must appear together to apply for license; both must provide social security numbers (no social security card is required) and one piece of identification (Drivers License, Missouri ID, US Passport, Foreign Passport, Military ID, Certified Copy of US Birth Certificate plus US government issued Photo ID or Government ID Card with government ID number. NO BACKGROUND CHECK IS REQUIRED.
What about the Additional $10 Fee to get a CERTIFIED COPY of the Marriage License? Do you Need it? Yes, if you are in the MILITARY (generally they give this certified copy for FREE to Military) and YES if you intend to use your Marriage License to get a Passport to show your new marital status and are taking your spouse's last name. You do NOT need to pay this $10 fee for a Certified Copy just to get your last name changed with Social Security. They will accept your ORIGINAL marriage license (the one you bring to us to sign). Social Security Information on name change after marriage here
If either party is divorced or widowed, applicant must provide the month/year the last marriage ended. A 30 day waiting period is required once a divorce is finalized for an applicant to re-marry although Jackson County Recorder of Deeds downtown does not enforce this rule and will permit you to purchase a marriage license immediately.
Once marriage license is issued it is only good for 30 DAYS. Marriage MUST take place within that 30 day time period or license must be returned! So HURRY UP! Get your license and either walk in or make your appointment with us! Being married is AWESOME!
PRISON, MILITARY, HOSPITAL & ABSENTEE MARRIAGES:
If you can't appear together at the courthouse to purchase your marriage license you will need to fill out the form HERE. It will need to be notarized and also there is a section for the hospital, prison, military, etc. to fill out approving the marriage. Once the absentee party has completed their part, their intended spouse needs to take that form and finish filling it out AT the Recorder of Deeds (offices listed below). The marriage license will then be issued while they are there. BOTH parties MUST appear together at time of marriage. Proxy marriages are NOT legal in Missouri.
GREEN CARD AFTER MARRIAGE:
Couple will appear together at the Recorder of Deeds to purchase their marriage license providing proof of ID. Once we perform your marriage the marriage license will be filed with the courthouse. They will issue a CERTIFIED copy of it. Take that Certified marriage license to the immigration office. Social security security number and the name change information can be found HERE.
A WORD ABOUT WITNESSES
Missouri State Law Dictates that 2 witnesses must sign the marriage license in order for it to be valid. There is no stipulation of age requirement - CHILDREN may be witnesses.
RETURNING THE LICENSE
Clay County, and most other counties, mandate that only the wedding officiant may return the marriage license. We will file your license promptly and the counties are very prudent about returning Marriage License to the couple quickly. The ONLY exception they will make for a couple to bring their license in for immediate recording is for MILITARY couples.
Please understand when we file for you that we are abiding by State law. JACKSON COUNTY, on the other hand, DOES allow couples to file their own marriage licenses. The advantage in doing so is to get the license back immediately so name changes can be applied for immediately.
The following is a list of where MISSOURI Marriage Licenses can be obtained in the Greater Kansas City area:
COURTHOUSE HOURS: M-F 8am-5pm (some will not accept applications after 4:00pm)
JACKSON COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
415 E. 12th Street Room 104, Kansas City, MO 64106 Phone: (816) 881-1577
112 W. Lexington Avenue, Independence, MO
Phone: (816) 881-4483
JACKSON COUNTY NOW HAS AN ONLINE MARRIAGE APPLICATION HERE
CLAY COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
1 Courthouse Square, Liberty, MO 64068 Phone: (816) 407-3550
Clay County Annex: 1901 NE 48th Street, Kansas City, MO 64118 (The Annex is located next to Northgate Middle School and is 4 miles from our chapel!)
BATES COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
103 W Dakota St #3, Butler, MO 64730 Phone: (660) 679-3611
JOHNSON COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
300 N Holden Street Suite 305, Warrensburg, MO 64093 Phone: (660) 747-6811
PLATTE COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
415 Third Street, Suite 70, Platte City, MO 64079 Phone: (816) 858-3326
PETTIS COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
415 South Ohio Street, Suite 106, Sedalia, MO 65301 Phone: (660) 826-5000 x.922
HENRY COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
100 W Franklin, Clinton, MO 64735
Phone: (660) 885-7209
BUCHANAN COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
411 Jules Street, Room 103, St. Joseph, MO 64501 Phone: (816) 271-1437
RAY COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
100 W Main Street, Richmond, MO 64085 (816) 776-4502
CASS COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
102 E Wall, Harrisonville, MO 64701 Phone: (816) 380-8123
LAFAYETTE COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
1001 Main Street, Room 207, Lexington, MO 64067 Phone: (660) 259-6178
BENTON COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
316 Van Buren Street, Warsaw, MO 65355
Phone: (660) 438-5732
CALDWELL COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
49 East Main, Kingston, MO 64650 Phone: (816) 586-3080
BOONE COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
801 East Walnut, Room 132, Columbia, MO 65201 Phone: (573) 886-4345
CAMDEN COUNTY RECORDER OF DEEDS
1 Court Circle, Suite 5, Camdenton, MO 65020 Phone: (573) 346-4440 ex 1300